Upstate NY a Gluten-Free Haven Part One: On the Road

With the bevy of farmers markets and abundant veggies and fruits available in the summer FullSizeRendertime, summery travels and gluten-free eating feels a little bit easier.  ( Imagine finding a field of wild blueberries on a hike – free food! free gluten-free food at that.)
Lucky enough to spend a few days in Columbia County, NY, aside from a cool and beautiful respite from the city hustle and bustle, upstate NY, also proved to be a haven for Gluten-Free baked goods, and fresh food finds as well, at many a turn.

Driving along the Taconic Parkway, just before hitting Pawling NY, I was ready for a loo pit stop and a coffee.  A beacon on the road, low and behold, not a McDonald’s rather there was The Todd HillTaste of NY rest stop.  On line for said loo, I was surprised and totally delighted to find baked goods from gluten-free twinkling star Ella’s Bellas.  Hold everything!  Essentially, if I am to eat a chocolate chip cookie, I want it to be from Ella’s Bellas.  Naturally I had to buy a bag ( ok two) of the chocolate salted chocolate chip cookies.  I would have been a fool not to!  En route to visit my sweet niece, (diagnosed just about 3 years ago with Celiac Disease) isn’t that what an auntie is for, to create diversions from their otherwise healthy, homemade eating? (Shhhh).    ellas

Lo and behold, there on the shelves, also, another fave, gluten-free bread and biscotti from near by Chatham Bakery and Cafe.  We make our image1specialty Levine’s General Grilled Cheese sandwiches with this bread, purchased at Union Square farmer’s market, but had never been to the actual cafe. I knew we would be hitting their cafe – so I left that purchase for later.   Other snacks abound, with Certified Gluten-Free labels.  This was not your average rest stop for sure.

A lovely afternoon lunch was had over the weekend at Our Daily Bread, Chatham Gluten-Free Bakery. Finally I could experience the cafe first hand.  Everyone who works at the cafe, is knowledgeable, friendly, and wholly accommodating. My niece had specially made gluten-free waffles with fruit.  I had a classic veggie sandwich on the “rye” caraway bread.  Blissful simplicity.  The only suggestion I would make ( okay, I’m making it) is that I find their bread is better when lightly toasted.  What’s better than a lightly toasted sandwich anyway?  All and all it was just really nice to be out and about, and feel safe with good fresh foods and gluten-free baked goods.

chathamb  Below: Upstate NY Gluten-Free Haven Part Two:  Happy Belly Bakery of Hudson…