Meet the Maker: Carley Franklin Hughes of Ella’s Bellas

 

Image
It was a hot hot summer day, last June.  I was on an architectural salvage day trip with my friend Phyllis of Reclaimed Home  (now a store in Brooklyn, you should go).
Phyllis used to live in Beacon NY, and we stopped by to visit some of her friends, one of them being the owner of Beacon Natural Market, the local grocery.  I was heavily into gluten free product research at the time and Kitty, the owner said “You must go to Ella’s Bellas down the block – all gluten free bakery – it’s delicious.”
That was an understatement.  Greeted by the tastefully rustic, cozy cafe environment, soups, salads, quiches on offer  – I felt like I was standing in the kind of establishment I could only dream of going to in Brooklyn.   It was late in the day, and they were clearly sold out of many items ( not surprisingly! ).  In awe, I just pointed to a few items – that, that, that, that – paid, and we shuffled off back to Brooklyn.   How was I to know I was going to bite into, the most favorite chocolate chip cookie of my life?  Note I did not say the greatest gluten free cookie of my life.   Oh yes, it was gluten free alright, and delicious, not just “delicious for gluten free” as people tend to say.  Gooey, with a crunch, not too sweet, masterfully indulgent, delicious. Period.  Don’t get me started on the cinnamon bun.
ImageAnd thus began my “courting” (stalking?) of the creator of this charming bakery.  Carley Franklin Hughes, is the baker and vision behind Ella’s Bellas, named after her five year old daughter.  Despite numerous attempts we have yet to meet, (clones, we need clones!).  But through emails and phone and another visit to the bakery ( when she wasn’t there) it easy to learn that she is a sparkling powerhouse, a woman on the go, with humor and wit, and a growing amazing cafe, (now with alcohol!).   Our begging has finally pulled off, and Levine’s General Store, is pleased to finally announce that Ella’s Bellas of Beacon will be setting up shop at the June 1st  EatUP!
Carley started her business doing wholesale in 2009 and gradually with the support of her husband and the demand of the citizens of Beacon, expanded to the storefront cafe that now delights residents and visitors of the Hudson Valley.   On June 1st, you don’t want to miss the chocolate chip cookies, baguettes, and other baked surprises.  A year in the making – Beacon is coming to Brooklyn – by way of Ella’s Bellas!    Can you tell we are excited?
Be sure to visit when in the area, or make a day trip!
Yay! ImageImageImage
Image
